Predicted order of finish

(2015 record)

West Metro • North


How tough is this district? Osseo went on to win the Class 6A state title despite losing three district games last year. Relentless and deep Totino-Grace should come out on top, but watch for Centennial, which defeated the Eagles 20-17 on the road last year and finished with four victories in its last five regular-season games. Also keep an eye on Champlin Park.


1. Totino-Grace (9-3)


2. Centennial (4-5)


3. Champlin Park (4-5)


4. Osseo (10-3)


5. Blaine (4-5)


6. Andover (6-5)


7. Anoka (3-6)


8. Coon Rapids (0-9)


West Metro • South


Questions abound in arguably the state’s toughest district. How will Eden Prairie bounce back? Can Maple Grove take the next step? Will Wayzata return to glory in coach Brad Anderson’s last year? Will Prior Lake and Edina live up to expectations? Is Shakopee ready to play with the big boys in coach Ray Betton’s second year?


1. Eden Prairie (10-1)


2. Edina (4-6)


3. Maple Grove (9-3)


4. Prior Lake (6-4)

5. Wayzata (8-3)


6. Hopkins (3-7)


7. Shakopee (1-8)


8. Minnetonka (3-6)


Suburban Red


Perhaps the most interesting district in the metro last year. Park Center has lost a terrific class and will slip a bit. Benilde-St. Margaret’s, a Class 4A state quarterfinalist last year, will be even better and features electric Ricky Floyd in the backfield. But the district crown will go through Spring Lake Park, which lost a chance at the Class 5A title last year when QB Zach Ojile went down with an injury in the playoffs. The wild card is DeLaSalle and new coach C.J. Hallman.


1. Spring Lake Park (10-1)


2. Benilde-St. Margaret’s (5-6)


3. Cooper (6-3)


4. Armstrong (7-3)


5. Park Center (8-3)


6. DeLaSalle (3-7)


7. St. Louis Park (0-8)


8. Irondale (2-8)


Suburban White


Much more balanced this year than last, when Orono ran away with the title. This will be a dogfight all season as Orono will be good once again, but Chaska, Chanhassen and Bloomington Jefferson are all talented and capable.

1. Chaska (7-3)


2. Chanhassen (4-6)


3. Orono (9-1)


4. Bloomington Jefferson (4-6)


5. Holy Angels (6-3)


6. Waconia (2-7)


7. Richfield (3-7)


8. Bloomington Kennedy (1-8)


Twin City Blue


Minneapolis North must replace graduated QB Tyler Johnson, but all-district linemen Jamire Jackson and Phil Scott return. The Polars, who reached the Class 1A championship game, are 24-2 over the past two seasons. St. Paul Humboldt won’t field a team this season because of numbers.


1. Minneapolis North (12-1)


2. St. Agnes (6-4)


3. Spectrum (5-5)


4. Minneapolis Roosevelt (3-6)


5. Brooklyn Center (3-6)


6. Minneapolis Edison (1-8)

Twin City Gold


Young on offense, the SMB Wolfpack (Blake, Minnehaha Academy and St. Paul Academy) will look to build on a successful inaugural season as a co-op. New Life Academy/St. Croix returns a veteran offensive line from a team that won four of its last five.


1. SMB Wolfpack (8-1)


2. New Life Academy/St. Croix Prep (4-5)


3. Providence Academy (6-4)


4. St. Paul Johnson (4-6)


5. St. Paul Harding (4-5)


6. Minneapolis South (3-6)


Twin City Maroon


St. Paul Central looks to be the favorite in a balanced subdistrict that saw three teams reach section championship games. The Minutemen, who scored more than 40 points seven times in 10 games, will need to find a replacement for QB Sam Gubbrud.


1. St. Paul Central (7-3)


2. St. Croix Lutheran (7-4)


3. Fridley (8-3)


4. St. Paul Highland Park (7-3)


5. Minneapolis Washburn (4-5)


6. St. Anthony (3-7)


7. Minneapolis Southwest (1-8)


Twin City Red


Mound Westonka is coming off its best season since 1980. The White Hawks, who allowed just 7.1 points per game last season, will have many new faces on defense. RB Isaiah Cherrier, the Twin City Red offensive player of the year, returns for the White Hawks.


1. Mound Westonka (8-1)


2. Minneapolis Henry (7-3)


3. Columbia Heights (3-6)


4. Breck (3-7)


5. St. Paul Como Park (3-7)


6. Concordia Academy (2-7)


East Central • South


This is basically the Wright County Conference, which had a reputation for years as a hotbed for tough, hard-nosed football. Two teams will vie for the district title: Hutchinson doesn’t have the size or skill level of its glory days in 2012 and 2013 but has a slew of good football players, and Glencoe-Silver Lake, which should be able to move the ball on anyone with its entire starting backfield and three offensive linemen back. Expect Delano to have a say in who wins.


1. Glencoe-Silver Lake (7-3)


2. Hutchinson (7-4)


3. Delano (7-3)


4. Annandale (7-4)


5. Litchfield (4-5)


6. Dassel-Cokato (2-7)


7. Holy Family (4-6)


8. Watertown-Mayer (0-9)

East Metro • Blue


The Royals, Raptors and Raiders are the three R’s to watch. A handful of solid college prospects puts Woodbury at the head of this class. You can figure crosstown rival East Ridge, Class 6A Prep Bowl runner-up last fall, will challenge for supremacy. And always-talented Cretin-Derham Hall has new coach Brooks Bollinger at the helm.


1. Woodbury (6-3)


2. East Ridge (11-2)


3. Cretin-Derham Hall (7-3)


4. Mounds View (4-5)


5. White Bear Lake (2-7)


6. Stillwater (6-4)


7. Roseville (1-8)


8. Forest Lake (0-9)


East Metro • Red


Both South St. Paul (Class 4A) and St. Thomas Academy (5A) reached the Prep Bowl last season, a testament to the strong football played in the East Metro. This year, Mahtomedi and Park of Cottage Grove have the tools for making deeper playoff runs. Hill-Murray welcomes new coach Pete Bercich, former Vikings linebacker.


1. Park of Cottage Grove (6-3)


2. St. Thomas Academy (11-2)

3. Mahtomedi (6-5)


4. South St. Paul (11-2)


5. Hastings (4-6)


6. North St. Paul (8-3)


7. Simley (6-4)


8. Hill-Murray (1-9)


9. Henry Sibley (1-8)


10. Tartan (1-8)


East Metro • White


One of the state’s most dynamic subdistricts features top skill players, tough linemen and proven coaching. Traditional powers Lakeville North and Rosemount must fend off rejuvenated Burnsville and rising Farmington. Don’t overlook a healthier Apple Valley team or Eagan and new coach Ben Hanson.


1. Rosemount (7-2)


2. Lakeville North (9-2)


3. Burnsville (9-2)


4. Apple Valley (5-6)


5. Farmington (2-7)


6. Eagan (4-6)

7. Lakeville South (5-5)


8. Eastview (0-9)


North Central • Blue


Class 5A Prep Bowl champion St. Michael-Albertville moves on next season to the new Metro District with the powers of 6A. Before the Knights leave, however, they will reassert themselves as the best among a solid group of programs in the North Central Blue. Perhaps rival Rogers will spoil the going-away party.


1. St. Michael-Albertville (12-1)


2. Rogers (8-2)


3. St. Francis (7-3)


4. Elk River (5-5)


5. Cambridge-Isanti (3-6)


6. Buffalo (1-8)


North Central • White


Monticello won’t be as formidable up front but remains the class of this subdistrict thanks to great team speed. Three members of the Class 2A state track and field championship 4x200-meter relay team line up at skill positions. And watch Big Lake senior running back Tanner Tiege, who produced more than 2,000 total yards.


1. Monticello (8-2)


2. Chisago Lakes (6-4)


3. Big Lake (2-7)


4. Princeton (5-6)

5. Duluth East (2-7)


6. North Branch (2-8)