Hennepin County voters will wait until May 14 to pick someone to represent the Sixth District on the County Board so the vote does not coincide with the Muslim holy day of Eid al-Fitr.

County Auditor Dan Rogan said Monday afternoon the vote would be pushed back five weeks from April 9 to avoid conflicting with Eid al-Fitr, an important holy day that marks the end of Ramadan, a month dedicated to fasting, prayer and acts of service.

The decision comes after Jaylani Hussein, executive director of the Minnesota Chapter of the Council on American-Islamic Relations, sent a letter to the County Board on Friday noting the conflict. He said holding the vote on the holiday "may inadvertently disenfranchise a significant portion of Muslim voters."

After being notified of the change, Hussein said, "we welcome their decision and feel this will avoid one of the main holidays celebrated in Hennepin County."

The change will also push back the special election primary until April 30, which will only be needed if more than two candidates file for the race.

The seat is vacant after Commissioner Chris LaTondresse left the board Sept. 21 to lead the Beacon Interfaith Housing Collaborative in St. Paul. So far, three candidates have announced bids to replace him.

Jen Westmoreland, a Hopkins school board member who announced her bid in September, initially noted the conflict caused by the special election date.

Alicia Gibson, an Edina resident, who ran for the Minneapolis City Council in 2021, and Dario Anselmo, an Edina businessman who narrowly lost to LaTondresse in 2020, also announced plans to run.

Hennepin County's Sixth District has 66 precincts and includes parts of Edina, Greenwood, Hopkins, Minnetonka, Eden Prairie, Shorewood and Wayzata.

The winner of the special election will serve out the remainder of LaTondresse's term, which expires in December 2024. Hennepin County commissioners earn $119,244 annually.