BLOOMINGTON, IND. – The fifth-seeded Iowa baseball team won the Big Ten tournament title for the first time in program history with a 13-4 victory over seventh-seeded Northwestern in the championship game Sunday.

The Hawkeyes took a 5-0 lead in the first inning. Jake Adams had four hits, including two home runs, and four RBI, while Drake Robison gave up one run and four hits in seven innings.

Iowa (38-20), which beat the Gophers 7-5 in 13 innings Saturday night, earned the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. Iowa left fielder Chris Whelan was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

"It's never easy," Iowa coach Rick Heller said. "Even with a lead like that, it's never easy. Once it was over, I had a bunch of amazing feelings and emotions. I am happy for this team."

• Two Gophers made the all-tournament team: first baseman Toby Hanson and outfielder Jordan Smith.

News Services