Tyler Johnson's outstanding season for the Gophers was recognized Wednesday by the Big Ten.

Johnson, a junior wide receiver, was named first-team All-Big Ten by a vote of the conference media and second team by a vote of the league's coaches.

The former Minneapolis North standout ranked second in the conference in receptions (74), receiving yards (1,112) and receiving yards per game (92.7) and was third in touchdown receptions (10). He averaged 15 yards per catch.

Johnson is the first Gopher to be named first-team All-Big Ten on offense since lineman Zac Epping in 2014 and the first receiver on a first team since Eric Decker in 2009.

Six other Gophers, including all five starting offensive linemen, received honorable mention. Senor left tackle Donnell Greene received honorable mention from both the coaches and media, while freshman right guard Blaise Andries, freshman right tackle Daniel Faalele, sophomore left guard Conner Olson and senior center Jared Weyler were honorable mention picks by the media, as was freshman running back Mohamed Ibrahim.

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins and Purdue wide receiver Rondale Moore each received two major awards. Haskins was named Offensive Player of the Year and quarterback of the year, while Moore was named Freshman and Receiver of the Year.

Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor was named Running Back of the Year, while Badgers guard Michael Deiter was named Offensive Lineman of the Year. Iowa's T.J. Hockenson was Tight End of the Year.

Randy Johnson

Reiss named D-II Volleyball Player of Year

Southwest Minnesota State senior outside hitter Taylor Reiss received two major awards, being named the Division II National Player of the Year by both the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) — for the second straight season — and the Conference Commissioners' Association, which is voted upon by sports information directors.

Reiss, of Taunton, Minn., will be honored at the AVCA banquet Dec. 14 in Minneapolis. As a senior, she led the Mustangs in kills (664) and hit .306 with 394 digs, 69 blocks and 34 service aces.

Sioux Falls RB in running for Hill Trophy

Running back Gabriel Watson of Sioux Falls, who led NCAA Division II players in four rushing and scoring categories, was nominated for the Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II College Football Player of the Year.