Gophers junior goaltender Adam Wilcox was named to the Mike Richter Award Watch list on Friday evening. The award honors college hockey's top goaltender.

Wilcox is one of 20 standouts from around the country to be recognized. The list also included Minnesota State sophomore goaltender Cole Huggins.

The Big Ten has five representatives on the short list with Wilcox, Ohio State's Christian Frey, Michigan State's Jake HIldebrand, Michigan's Zach Nagelvoort and Wisconsin's Joel Rumpel. 

Wilcox and Rumpel were finalists for last year's award.

In alphabetical order, the 2015 Mike Richter Award watch list:

Name                            School                                Year
Thatcher Demko #   Boston College               Sophomore
Casey DeSmith          New Hampshire             Senior
Christian Frey            Ohio State                        Sophomore
Michael Garteig        Quinnipiac                        Junior
Jon Gillies #                Providence                       Junior
Lukas Hafner              Western Michigan         Junior
Jake Hildebrand #    Michigan State                Junior
Brody Hoffman         Vermont                           Junior
Cole Huggins              Minnesota State            Sophomore
Zane McIntyre          North Dakota                  Junior
Steve Michalek         Harvard                              Senior
C.J. Motte #               Ferris State                       Senior
Zach Nagelvoort #   Michigan                           Sophomore
Matt O’Connor         Boston University          Junior
Steve Perry                Clarkson                            Sophomore
Joel Rumpel *            Wisconsin                         Senior
Jimmy Sarjeant #     Mercyhurst                      Senior
Colin Stevens #         Union                                 Senior
Adam Wilcox *          Minnesota                        Junior
Clay Witt *                  Northeastern                  Senior

* 2014 Mike Richter Award finalist                 # 2014 Mike Richter Award candidate

Note: The watch list was chosen by members of Let’s Play Hockey, utilizing both past performance and future potential. Freshmen are not included on the first list of the season. Additions and deletions to this list, including freshmen, will be made as the 2014-15 season unfolds. The inaugural winner of the Mike Richter Award was Connor Hellebuyck of UMass Lowell.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award will be determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-              Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-              Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-              Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-              Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
-              Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community