Gophers sophomore Emmit Carpenter was named Big Ten Kicker of the Year on Tuesday, based on voting by conference coaches and media.

Carpenter has made 21 of 23 field-goal attempts and 41 of 42 extra-point tries. He was perfect on nine kicks beyond 40 yards, and 2-for-2 on kicks of 50-plus.

Carpenter's 104 points for the season rank second for a Minnesota kicker behind Dan Nystrom, who had 109 points in 2000. The media voted Carpenter as a first-team All-Ten selection, while the coaches had Carpenter on the second team behind Penn State's Tyler Davis.

Gophers defensive tackle Steven Richardson earned third-team All-Big Ten honors. Defensive backs Damarius Travis and Jalen Myrick, linebackers Jonathan Celestin and Jack Lynn, and defensive tackle Scott Ekpe were named honorable mention.

Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers received three conference awards, including Defensive Player of the Year. The junior, who was also named Linebacker of the Year and Return Specialist of the Year, recorded 72 tackles (including 16 for loss) and four sacks. Other players honored were Ohio State's Tyquan Lewis (Defensive Lineman of the Year) and Michigan's Jourdan Lewis (Defensive Back of the Year).

Wisconsin's Paul Chryst and Penn State's James Franklin, who oppose each other in Saturday's Big Ten Championship game, split the coaching honors.

The offensive All-Big Ten awards will be announced Wednesday.


• Myrick was also selected to play in the East-West Shrine Game on Jan. 21 in St. Petersburg, Fla.

• In recruiting news, Corey Gaynor, a consensus three-star offensive tackle from Pompano Beach, Fla., flipped his commitment from the Gophers to Miami.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.