What: Baseball Hall of Fame announcement

When: 1 p.m. Wednesday

TV: MLB Network. Coverage begins at 11 a.m.

On the ballot: 37 candidates

(24 newcomers and 13 holdovers).

• The newcomers include Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa. The holdovers include St. Paul native and former Twin Jack Morris, the top returning vote-getting with 66.7 percent of last year's vote.

Voting: Done by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. The deadline for ballots was Dec. 31. A candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the vote for induction.

Induction day: July 28 in Cooperstown, N.Y.