Moving up

Larkin Hoffman, Bloomington, named Paul Smith president. Smith is a shareholder and was chairman of the firm’s business-litigation department.

Greater Mankato Growth named Patrick Baker vice president and director of government and institutional affairs. Baker joined the firm in 2012 as director of government and institutional affairs and was internal director of technology.

On the move

Regis Corp., Edina, named Chad Kapadia chief technology officer. Kapadia was head of engineering for Target’s new ventures and accelerators and held leadership positions at Swissclear Global and Netflix. Regis Corp. also named Laura Alexander senior vice president, merchandise. Alexander joined Regis in 2012 and most recently was vice president, Walmart relations and SmartStyle franchise administration.

Harris, St. Paul, named David Barnes chief financial officer.

Jeremiah Program named La Juana Whitmore executive director of the Minneapolis-St. Paul campus. Whitmore was director of consulting solutions for Metropolitan Economic Development Association and worked for Target Corp.

Bruster’s Real Ice Cream named Kim Ellis vice president of franchise development. Ellis was vice president of franchise development for Snip-its Haircuts for Kids and worked for MSA Worldwide.

Hamline University, St. Paul, named Michael Tompos vice president of institutional advancement effective Aug. 1. Tompos is vice president of philanthropy for Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association and was director of advancement for the University of Minnesota Law School. Hamline University also named David Everett associate vice president for inclusive excellence effective August 27.

Community Action Duluth named Jeff Longenecker executive director.

On the board

Medica, Minnetonka, named Brigid Bonner to the board. Bonner is chief experience officer for CaringBridge and worked for OptumHealth.

American Swedish Institute, Minneapolis, named to the board Maggi Adamek, Terra Soma; Aimee Baxter, Macalester College; Mary Dee Hicks, Personnel Decisions International; John Litell, Abbott Northwestern Hospital; and Elizabeth Olson, CaringBridge.