Division I hockey will continue its Westward expansion. Arizona State announced on Tuesday afternoon that it will elevate its men’s club hockey team to NCAA Division I status over the next three seasons.

Private donations of $32 million from a group of hockey supporters will make the addition possible, Craig Morgan of Fox Sports Arizona first reported.

The Arizona State athletics Twitter account teased the news by tweeting “It’s getting chilly in the desert… .”

Athletic director Ray Anderson and a donor will hold a press conference at 3 p.m.

“Head coach Greg Powers has built a powerhouse ice hockey program here in Tempe, and because of his work it was probably a matter not of if, but when Sun Devil Hockey would be ready to compete at the highest level," Anderson said in a press release. "I am grateful for the generosity shown by our hockey supporters to make this move possible, and I am hopeful that more members of the extended Sun Devils Athletics family will help us grow this program for the future."

The Sun Devils won the 2013-2014 ACHA club national championship.

Arizona State will become the ninth Division I hockey team tied to the Power 5 conferences and 60th Division I member. Penn State is the most recent institution to add varsity hockey in 2012, also with the help of a major donation.

The Gophers hockey Twitter account welcomed the Sun Devils after their announcement. The Big Ten retweeted the news and then deleted the post.

Arizona State would be a good fit for the newly formed Big Ten hockey conference. The six-team conference allows its members to play the first half of their season against non-conference opponents. The Sun Devils could limit travel expenses with non-conference games west of the Mississippi against Air Force, Colorado College, Denver, North Dakota, Nebraska Omaha, and the four Minnesota hockey programs outside of the Big Ten.

Once conference play rolled around, they would compete against like-programs in the Big Ten. Conference commissioner Jennifer Heppel said the Big Ten would consider expansion outside of its current 14-member institutions.

Big Ten men’s lacrosse is example of the Big Ten welcoming outsiders. John Hopkins is part of the newly formed six-team men’s lacrosse conference with Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers.

The NCHC and WCHA, based on the location of their members, could also be future homes for the Sun Devils. The Pac-12 would need six of its 12 schools to sponsor the sport to form a hockey conference.

"I applaud Arizona State University for creating new opportunities for student-athletes," Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott said in a release. "Thanks to today's announcement, more Sun Devils will benefit from the often transformative experiences and life lessons made possible by college athletics."