7:05 p.m. tonight at Midway Stadium; home run derby and skills competition beginning at 5:15 p.m.; fireworks following the game

Tickets: $12 reserved, $8 bleacher reserved, $5 general admission

TV: Ch. 45 • Radio: 1330-AM


The first American Association baseball league was formed in 1902 and included teams from St. Paul, Minneapolis, Toledo, Indianapolis, Louisville, Kansas City, Columbus and Milwaukee. Players such as Mickey Mantle, Ted Williams and Willie Mays have played in the league over the next 50 years.

However, teams began disbanding with the expansion of Major League Baseball teams into some of those cities. In 1963, the original American Association shut down. But the break did not last long. The American Association started up again in 1969, with teams in eight cities, and lasted until 1997. The league remained dark until October 2005 when the Northern League and the Central League decided to merge, and again the American Association was alive.

Currently there are 10 teams in this independent league, stretching from St. Paul to El Paso and Shreveport. Grand Prairie (Texas) and Wichita joined the league this season.