Everything happens at once! Last week, while we were busily honoring the winners of the National Book Critics Circle awards, the Whiting Awards were announced. The awards were established in 1985 by the Whiting Foundation, granting $50,000 each to emerging writers. The choice is based on their early-career work and the promise of great work to come.

"Sorry to Disrupt the Peace," a novel by Patty Yumi Cottrell, one of the fiction winners, was named one of the Star Tribune end-of-the-year recommendations in December. And Weike Wang, another fiction winner, was named one of the National Book Foundation's "Five Under 35" last fall. She will be at Magers & Quinn Bookstore in Minneapolis on April 30, reading from her new novel, "Chemistry."

Here are all of this year's winners:

Anne Boyer Poetry and Nonfiction

Antoinette Nwandu Drama

Patty Yumi Cottrell Fiction

Tommy Pico Poetry

Nathan Alan Davis Drama

Brontez Purnell Fiction

Hansol Jung Drama

Esmé Weijun Wang Nonfiction

Rickey Laurentiis Poetry

Weike Wang Fiction

Older Post

Minnesota authors Marlon James, Emily Fridlund win American Academy awards

Newer Post

Book about Janesville, Wis., wins major prize