Here is the long list for fiction for this year's National Book Awards. Some notable writers are missing from this list, including Minnesota's Louise Erdrich, whose novel, "LaRose," was critically acclaimed. Erdrich won the National Book Award in 2012 for "The Round House."

On the list: Colson Whitehead's "Underground Railroad," the pub date of which moved up a month after it was declared an Oprah book, and Jacqueline Woodson's novel for adults. Woodson won the National Book Award in 2014 for her young-adult novel, "Brown Girl Dreaming."

Whitehead will be in the Twin Cities Nov. 3 for Talking Volumes.

Chris Bachelder, The Throwback Special (W. W. Norton & Company)

Garth Greenwell, What Belongs to You (Farrar, Straus and Giroux/Macmillan) 

Adam Haslett, Imagine Me Gone (Little, Brown and Company/Hachette Book Group)

Paulette Jiles, News of the World (William Morrow/HarperCollinsPublishers) (Star Tribune review forthcoming.)

Karan Mahajan, The Association of Small Bombs (Viking Books/Penguin Random House) 

Elizabeth McKenzie, The Portable Veblen (Penguin Press/Penguin Random House)

Lydia Millet, Sweet Lamb of Heaven (W. W. Norton & Company)

Brad Watson, Miss Jane (W. W. Norton & Company)

Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad (Doubleday/Penguin Random House)

Jacqueline Woodson, Another Brooklyn (Amistad/HarperCollinsPublishers) (Star Tribune review forthcoming)

The short list will be announced in October, and winners in November.

Older Post

National Book Award long list for nonfiction carries a serious tone

Newer Post

Kirkus Award finalists announced