Junior righthander Blake Eiden gave up only three hits in pitching Chanhassen to a 2-1 victory over Minnetonka in the Class 4A, Section 2 baseball tournament on Wednesday at Minnetonka's Veterans Field.

The Storm's victory forced a second game between the two teams on Thursday at Minnetonka for the section championship.

It was the fifth consecutive victory in the double-elimination tournament for the Storm (16-9), after Chanhassen lost its first-round section playoff game to Prior Lake on May 31. The Skippers (14-10) were 3-0 in the section tournament before Wednesday.

Minnetonka scored in the second inning on a triple by Charlie Hemer and sacrifice fly by Josh Daniel. That was the only run off Eiden, who was the losing pitcher in the Storm's 10-3 loss in their section opener. Eiden struck out nine.

The Storm scored two runs in the fifth on Josh Och's RBI on a fielder's choice and a sacrifice fly by Hunter Sheehan.

Farmington 4, Rochester Mayo 1: The top-seeded Tigers (18-6) defeated the seventh-seeded Spartans at New Prague for the Class 4A, Section 1 title and their first state tournament berth since 1977.

Hopkins 15, St. Louis Park 8: The host Royals outslugged the Royals to earn the Class 4A, Section 6 championship. The Royals (16-8) outscored their four section opponents, 47-15.

Park of Cottage Grove 5-9, Eagan 0-3: The Wolfpack defeated the Wildcats 5-0 and 9-3 to earn the Class 4A, Section 3 championship. Conor Mestemacher pitched a two-hit shutout in the first game. In the second game, the Wolfpack score seven runs in the bottom of the sixth after Eagan had tied it 2-2 in the top of the sixth. The Wolfpack, which lost to Eagan 15-0 in the second round of the section playoffs on June 2, earned its first state tournament berth since 1993.

Stillwater 5, Cretin-Derham Hall 0: Senior Gavin Zurn gave up two hits and struck out eight to help the Ponies beat the Raiders and earn the Class 4A, Section 4 championship.

Grand Rapids 6, Chisago Lakes 0: Sophomore Kyle Henke threw a one-hit shutout to lead the Thunderhawks (18-7) to the Class 3A, Section 7 championship over the Wildcats at Duluth's Wade Stadium.

Boys' lacrosse

Chanhassen 13, Shakopee 12: John Dahl, Brady Grandstaff and Carter Van Holland each scored three goals as the Storm held on for the Section 2 championship and its first-ever state tournament appearance.

Girls' lacrosse

Eden Prairie 14, Chanhassen 13: The Eagles rallied from a four-goal deficit in the second half for the Section 2 championship and their 14th consecutive state tournament berth. Kaci Kotschevar-Call's goal with 1:13 remaining gave the Eagles the lead.

Andover 14, Champlin Park 4: The Huskies earned their first state tournament berth with the victory over the Rebels in the Section 7 championship match.

Benilde-St. Margaret's 10, Wayzata 8: The Red Knights earned their first state berth with the victory over the visiting Trojans for the Section 5 title.

joel rippel