Terence Newman is coming back for another season with the Vikings.

The team announced on Monday that Newman, who turns 40 just before the start of the regular season, is returning for his 16th NFL season and his fourth with the Vikings. Newman's relationship with coach Mike Zimmer dates back to 2003, when Zimmer was the Cowboys' defensive coordinator and Newman was a rookie. Newman joined Zimmer in Cincinnati for two seasons, and has been in Minnesota since 2015.

Newman split time with Mackensie Alexander in the nickel cornerback role last season, often playing on first and second downs when the Vikings were in nickel. The Vikings selected Central Florida corner Mike Hughes with the 30th pick in the NFL draft last week, but Newman gives them another experienced option while Hughes develops and the team continues to assess Alexander.

Zimmer said at the NFL owners' meetings last month that Newman might still return, adding he thought the decision might come down to money. Even as Newman remained unsigned at the start of the Vikings' offseason workouts, both Zimmer and general manager Rick Spielman continued to leave the door open for his return.

Newman's 42 interceptions are the most among active NFL players. He is the oldest active defensive player in the league.

Waynes extended

The move was the Vikings' second bit of defensive back contract news of the day. Earlier Monday, the Vikings picked up the fifth-year option in cornerback Trae Waynes' contract, meaning he's slated to be on the roster through at least 2019.

Waynes is expected to make north of $9 million, or nearly double the value of his original four-year rookie contract after being selected 11th overall in the 2015 NFL Draft. The move was expected for the 25-year-old outside cornerback.

17 more rookies

The Vikings agreed to terms with 17 undrafted free agents on Monday. Here's the group:

Quarterback: Peter Pujals (Holy Cross).

Wide receivers: Jake Wieneke (South Dakota St.), Armanti Foreman (Texas), Jeff Badet (Oklahoma), Korey Robertson (So. Miss).

Tight end: Tyler Hoppes (Nebraska).

Backs: Kamryn Pettway, FB (Auburn); Roc Thomas, RB (Jacksonville St.); Mike Boone, RB (Cincinnati).

Linemen: Chris Gonzalez, G (San Jose St.).

Defensive linemen: Curtis Cothran, DT (Penn State); Jonathan Wynn, DE (Vanderbilt).

Linebackers: Hercules Mata'afa (Washington State), Garret Dooley (Wisconsin).

Defensive backs: Tray Matthews (Auburn), Holton Hill (Texas), Trevon Mathis (Toledo).