Be like Mick

The Vikings’ rich history of strength and durability at the center position began in their second year of existence when Hall of Famer Mick Tingelhoff opened the season with the first of his 240 consecutive starts over the next 17 seasons. Tingelhoff was the only Vikings rookie to start a season opener at center until Pat Elflein started in Monday night’s win against New Orleans. In 57 seasons of Vikings football, only 10 players have started more than 10 games at center. Here they are:


Starts Player Years as a Viking

240 Mick Tingelhoff 1962-78

123 Matt Birk 1998-2008

101 Dennis Swilley 1977-83, ’85-87

93 John Sullivan 2008-15

92 Jeff Christy 1993-99

86 Kirk Lowdermilk 1985-92

48 Joe Berger 2011-17

17 Adam Schreiber 1990-93

14 Bill Lapham 1961

12 Cory Withrow 1999-2005