The White House recognized two Minnesota teachers with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Leif Carlson, of Minneapolis' Jefferson Community School, and Peter Bohacek, of Mendota Heights' Henry Sibley High School, were among 108 teachers that will each receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation and will meet with members of the president's administration. 

The award is given to math and science teacher who are selected by a panel of scientists, mathematicians and educations, after an initial selection process at the state level. 

"These teachers are shaping America’s success through their passion for math and science,” President Obama said in a news release. “Their leadership and commitment empower our children to think critically and creatively about science, technology, engineering, and math. The work these teachers are doing in our classrooms today will help ensure that America stays on the cutting edge tomorrow.”