Robbie Grossman has been activated by the Twins, who also added pitcher Michael Tonkin to the team.

Grossman was reinstated from the 10-day disabled list and Tonkin's contract was selected from Class AAA Rochester.

In other moves, the team put reliever J.T. Chargois on the 60-day disabled list, and removed pitcher Deitrich Enns from the 10-day DL and assigned him to Class AA Chattanooga.

Lefthanded starter Adalberto Mejia had his rehab assignment transferred from Rochester to Chattanooga. He has missed 25 games because of a left arm strain, and pitched in two games for Rochester, which did not make the International League playoffs.

Grossman, who had a fractured thumb, played two games in Rochester and was 1-for-7 with two walks. He is hitting .243 with seven home runs and a .363 on-base percentage for the Twins.

Tonkin pitched in nine games for the Twins earlier this season, then made 31 appearances in Rochester, where he had a 1.73 ERA in 41.2 innings.

Chargois suffered an elbow injury early in the season, and his transfer to the 60-day DL creates room for Tonkin on the 40-man roster.

Enns (left shoulder) and Mejia join the Lookouts for the Southern League playoffs.

Mauer nominated for Clemente Award

Joe Mauer is the Twins' nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award, given to a player from each team "who best represents the game of baseball through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions, both on and off the field."

Other American League nominees are Chris Davis of Baltimore, Rick Porcello of Boston, Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox, Carlos Carrasco of Cleveland, Miguel Cabrera of Detroit, Jose Altuve of Houston, Drew Butera of Kansas City, Cameron Maybin of the Los Angeles Angels (since acquired by Houston), Brett Gardner of the New York Yankees, Liam Hendriks of Oakland, Robinson Cano of Seattle, Evan Longoria of Tampa Bay, Cole Hamels of Texas, and Marcus Stroman of Toronto.

National League nominees are Paul Goldschmidt of Arizona, Jason Motte of Atlanta, Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs, Scooter Gennett of Cincinnati, Ian Desmond of Colorado, Justin Turner of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Dee Gordon of Miami, Matt Garza of Milwaukee, T.J. Rivera of the New York Mets, Cameron Rupp of Philadelphia, Josh Harrison of Pittsburgh, Adam Wainwright of St. Louis, Hunter Renfroe of San Diego, Buster Posey of San Francisco and Ryan Zimmerman of Washington.