A legislative committee on Friday began the process of selecting candidates for four openings on the University of Minnesota's Board of Regents.

The Regent Candidate Advisory Council recommended 12 candidates — including two incumbents — to a joint legislative commission, which will make final suggestions that are sent to the full Legislature for consideration.

In the past, state lawmakers have frequently bypassed the list and picked candidates who were not vetted through the selection process.

Candidates recommended for the First Congressional District seat include Regent Randy Simonson, Val Aarsvold of Altura and Ruth Johnson of Rochester.

Daryl Alkire, Karen Schanfield and U senior James Farns­worth, all from St. Paul, were nominated for the Fourth District seat.

Regent Michael Hsu, Dave Hoang of Blaine and Kodi Verhalen of Elk River were named for the Sixth District opening.

Seventh District candidates include Doug Huebsch of Perham, Lucas Sjostrom of Brooten and Michael Yost of Murdock.

Regents Richard Beeson and Thomas Anderson, from the Fourth and Seventh Districts, respectively, did not apply for another term. Twenty candidates had been interviewed for the four seats.

"This long and careful process of selecting individuals for recommendation to the Legislature was difficult, but we are confident the university will be well served by whomever the Legislature selects from this list of well-qualified candidates," said Daniel Wolter, chairman of the Regent Candidate Advisory Council.

The U's 12-member governing board signs off on major policies, educational programs and annual budgets. The unpaid board is made up of one member from each of the state's eight congressional districts and four who are selected at-large.

All board members are selected by the Legislature to serve staggered six-year terms.

Ryan Faircloth • 612-673-4234

Twitter: @ryanfaircloth