Three students from Minneapolis high schools will serve on this year's Minnesota Youth Council.

Darren Jackson, a senior at Augsburg Fairview Academy, Dontae Holland, a freshman at Lucy Laney, and Hodan Osman, a junior at Edison High School, will be a part of the Council.

In 2013, the Minnesota Legislature created the council as a way for youth to provide advice and recommendations to the legislature and the governor on issues affecting young adults. The council provides opinions to the legislature on bills heard before the committee and prepares a youth omnibus bill.

The three Minneapolis students were part of a group of 12 new members and 21 returning members. They were sworn in Sunday.