What: SBS Tournament of Champions in Kapalua, Hawaii

Purse: $6 million (First prize: $1.08 million)

Course: Plantation Course at Kapalua. Yardage: 7,452. Par: 73

Schedule (TV): Thursday-Friday: Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday: Ch. 11

Defending champion: Jordan Spieth


The field is only for PGA Tour winners from 2016. ... The six players who chose not to start at Kapalua are British Open champion Henrik Stenson, Masters champion Danny Willett, Rory McIlroy, Sergio Garcia, Charl Schwartzel and Adam Scott. ... Spieth won last year by eight shots and finished at 30-under par, joining Ernie Els (Kapalua 2003) as the only players in PGA Tour history to complete 72 holes at 30 under or lower. ... Jason Day is playing for the first time since he withdrew after one round at the Tour Championship. ... Among the nine players at Kapalua for the first time is Greg Chalmers, who won his first PGA Tour event (Barracuda Championship) at age 42. ... Only 11 players are back at Kapalua from last year’s Tournament of Champions. ... Seven players at Kapalua are not yet eligible for the Masters. ... Spieth last year became only the second player to win as No. 1 in the world. The other was Tiger Woods in 2000.


Next tournament: PureSilk-Bahamas LPGA Classic on Jan. 26-29.


Next tournament: Mitsubishi Electric Championship on Jan. 20-22.