1. Apple Valley (4A)

Tre Jones single-handedly carried the Eagles to a state championship a year ago. The supporting cast around him now is much improved and more experienced.

2. Cretin-Derham Hall (4A)

Top eight players return and the front line boasts plenty of size, headed by 6-10 Daniel Oturu. Anything less than a state title will not suffice.

3. Minnehaha Academy (2A)

Loaded with talent, headed by Jalen Suggs, and still young. The Redhawks return nine of their top 10 players, and over 90 percent of their scoring. With their school damaged by an explosion, they will play home games at various sites around the metro.

4. Hopkins (4A)

It's been nearly a decade since the Royals failed to reach the state tournament in back-to-back years. After last year's hiatus, don't plan on it in 2017-18.

5. Park Center (4A)

The Pirates haven't been in the state tourney field since being the Class 4A runner-up in 2013. That changes with this small, athletic group.

6. DeLaSalle (3A)

A changing of the guard with Travis Bledsoe now running the program, but the Islanders still boast an outstanding backcourt.

7. Minneapolis North (2A)

The Class 1A defending state champions move up in classification this year. Coach Larry McKenzie will have them ready.

8. East Ridge (4A)

Look for the Raptors to become more consistent under new coach Bryce Tesdahl, formerly with New Prague.

9. Lakeville North (4A)

John Oxton has guided the Panthers to six consecutive state tourney trips. He knows how to reload on a yearly basis.

10. Orono (3A)

Coach Barry Wohler's squad faces the task of trying to advance from a tough section that includes DeLaSalle.