MIAC champion St. Thomas and MIAC runner-up St. John’s will each play home games on Saturday in the first round of the NCAA Division III playoffs, the NCAA announced Sunday.

The Tommies (10-0), who have reached at least the Division III quarterfinals six times in the past seven seasons, will play host to UMAC champion Northwestern (Roseville) on Saturday. The Eagles (9-1) are making their first appearance in the Division III playoffs.

St. John’s (9-1) will play host to Wisconsin-Platteville (8-2). The Johnnies are making their third consecutive playoff appearance.

Two other WIAC teams — Wisconsin-Whitewater (10-0) and Wisconsin-Oshkosh (9-1) — also made the 32-team field.

NCAA Division II

NSIC division champions Sioux Falls and Minnesota Duluth were named to the 26-team NCAA Division II playoff field.

Sioux Falls (11-0), the South Division and overall NSIC champion, is the No. 2 seed in Super Region III. The Cougars will play host to No. 7 seed Azusa Pacific (9-2) on Saturday.

Minnesota Duluth (10-1), which has won nine consecutive NSIC North division titles, is the No. 5 seed and will play at No. 4 seed Emporia State (10-1).

The UMD/Emporia State winner will advance to play top-seeded Northwest Missouri State, which received a first-round bye.

Joel Rippel