St. Thomas Academy

Little named French teacher of the year

The American Association of Teachers of French has named Caroline Little, a French teacher at St. Thomas Academy, its 2015 recipient of the Dorothy S. Ludwig Excellence in Teaching Award at the secondary level.

The award is given to one teacher a year who is a leader in the foreign language field, serves in the professional association and participates in conferences in the industry.

Little, who started her career at the school in 2002, teaches 10 different French courses there, including honors and college-level courses. She is the moderator of the French club and co-moderator of the Experimental Vehicle Team.

Little has been an active member of the association since 2005. She will be honored on July 10 in Quebec and will also receive a cash prize.


Fundraiser recycles old technology

People can bring their unwanted electronic devices, like computers, monitors and cellphones, to an electronics recycling fundraiser held by the Burnsville High School DECA team.

The event, a collaboration with nonprofit Tech Dump, will be held from 9 a.m. to noon on Saturday at US Federal Credit Union, 1400 Riverwood Drive, Burnsville.

Items with a battery or cord are likely to be accepted. Items that have a recycling fee (ranging from $15 to $25) include monitors and televisions. Humidifiers, large kitchen appliances, water heaters, space heaters, washers and dryers will not be accepted.

The funds help DECA, which prepares students for careers in fields like marketing, finance, hospitality and management. The event is free and receipts are available for donations. For more information, contact Tech Dump at 763-432-3117.


Eagan Foundation awards scholarships

The Eagan Foundation has awarded 119 graduating high school seniors with $118,975 in scholarships. Senior year students living in Eagan or attending Eagan High School were eligible for the scholarships.

Scholarships are funded by local businesses, school organizations, family foundations and nonprofits and awards were based on donor-specific criteria.

The students were honored at a breakfast on April 28.

Erin Adler