The Robbinsdale Robins PI Division adapted softball team will host its second annual Lloyd Olson adapted softball tournament Friday and Saturday at Armstrong High School in Plymouth. After a successful first year for the tournament — the unofficial kickoff to the season — it has been expanded from four teams to eight to include teams from both the physically impaired (PI) and cognitively impaired (CI) divisions.

Teams participating are Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound-Westonka (PI and CI), Anoka-Hennepin (PI and CI), Wayzata-Minnetonka (CI), White Bear Lake (CI), Rochester (PI) and South Suburban (PI).

The annual tournament is named after Robins team founder and first coach Lloyd Olson, an advocate of adapted athletes in the Robbinsdale School District. Olson’s dedication to students with disabilities and determination fueled Robins teams through the years.

Athena Awards banquets

The 43rd annual Minneapolis Athena Award luncheon starts at 11:15 a.m. on May 1 at the Doubletree Hotel in Bloomington. The 21st annual St. Paul Athena Award luncheon starts at 11:30 a.m. at April 15 at the Prom Center in Oakdale. Top female scholar-athletes from public and private high schools in the greater Twin Cities will be recognized.

Boys’ swimming banquet

The Minnesota High School swimming and diving all-state and awards banquet will be at 6 p.m. Friday at the Prom Center in Oakdale. This year’s inductees into the hall of fame will be Rich Ballard, a diving coach from Rochester, and Justin Zook, a world champion, world record holder and para-Olympic champion from Maple Grove.

Zook was born with an undiagnosed growth plate disorder in his legs that has required more than 30 operations.

He set para-American records in the 50- and 100-meter freestyle, 50 and 200 backstrok, and 50 butterfly.

Benick honored

Four-time state champion Lance Benick of Totino-Grace was named Mr. Minnesota by the wrestling coaches association. Benick finished his career ranked No. 1 in the nation at 195 pounds. Benick, who compiled a 130-1 record over the past four seasons, will attend Arizona State.