Primary day Aug. 10 will set the ballots for city council seats in three Dakota County cities.

Information about all the primary candidates is in the Star Tribune's online voters guide at

In Rosemount's first-ever municipal primary, the slate of six candidates for two City Council seats needs to be whittled to four before the general election. Maila Ellefson, Tim Judy, Joe Kurle and Dennis Winsor are challenging incumbent council members Mark DeBettignies and Kim Shoe-Corrigan.

In Inver Grove Heights, where two seats are up for election, voters will narrow a field of five City Council candidates to four on primary day. Incumbents Dennis Madden and Rosemary Piekarski Krech will face Jeff Dahn, Edward Gunter and Jim Mueller.

And in Northfield, a primary election will set the ballot for one at-large City Council seat and the seat in Ward 4. Norman Butler and Steve Engler are challenging Rhonda Pownell for the at-large spot. Incumbent Jon Denison faces Patrick Ganey and Dale Gehrig in Ward 4.