More than 160 local broadcasting professionals have been inducted into the Minnesota Broadcasting Hall of Fame, including Roger Awsumb (“Casey Jones”), Eric Eskola, Pat Miles, Dave Moore and Diana Pierce. These legends are among the Class of 2015.
Al DeRusha: Producer/director at WTCN TV and producer/director for Verne Gagne’s American Wrestling Alliance. (And not Jason’s dad!)
Paul Douglas: Meteorologist, author, radio and TV broadcaster, entrepreneur.
Ron Schara: Owner of Ron Schara Productions, producer of “Minnesota Bound,” owner of Raven and former Star Tribune writer.
Sue Zelickson: More than 20 years as restaurant and food reporter at WCCO radio.
Doug Johnson: 50 years in broadcasting, 35 years as general manager and part owner of KKOJ-AM/KRAQ-FM in Jackson.
Odis “Oats” LeGrand: (deceased) Broadcast sporting events in the Fergus Falls area for more than 45 years. Sports Illustrated recognized him as “the Voice of Small Town America” in 1985.
Steve Linder: Owner of four Lakeland Broadcasting stations in west central Minnesota.
John O’Rourke: “The Voice of Austin:” longtime broadcasting instructor at Riverland College and news director at KAAL-TV and KAUS radio.
Distinguished Service Award, Rey Lark: (deceased) Longtime radio engineer at many Twin Cities stations, including KDWB and WYOO. Known to all as “Radio Rey,” a selfless and dedicated individual.