Nine teachers are in the running to become the 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

The finalists, who were selected from a field of 168 nominees, were named Monday.

They are: Jeffrey Davies, an industrial technology teacher at Roseville Area High School; Jessica Davis, a math teacher at South St. Paul Secondary; Bernetta Green, a fifth-grade teacher at Eastern Heights Elementary in St. Paul; Theresa Pearson, an English teacher at Winona High School; Eugenia Popa, an English as a second language teacher at Harding High School in St. Paul; Timothy Riordan, a biology and environmental sciences teacher at Blaine High School; Steve Schmitz, an instrumental music teacher at St. Louis Park High School; Cory Wade, a third-grade teacher at Hillcrest Community School in Bloomington; and Wilbur Winkelman, a fifth-grade teacher at Lakeview Elementary School in Robbinsdale.

The panel of education, business, government and nonprofit leaders who narrowed the field of nominees will meet May 4 to interview each finalist and pick the winner, who will be named at a May 5 banquet at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

The Teacher of the Year program is organized by Education Minnesota, the state’s teachers union, and supported by several other community groups and businesses. Candidates for the award are prekindergarten through 12th-grade teachers, as well as early childhood and adult basic education teachers, who work in public or private schools.

The recipient of this year’s award will be announced by last year’s winner, Kelly D. Holstine, who teaches at the Tokata Learning Center in Shakopee.