Minnesota's roads often make the news because they are deemed deficient or are under construction. Here's a case where the state is getting attention because of high-performing roads.

Earlier this year, MnDOT earned a 2013 Perpetual Pavement Award from the Asphalt Pavement Alliance. The agency won the award for the segment of Hwy. 95 between mileposts 105 and 110 near Bayport. It marked the 12th straight year MnDOT has earned the award, which recognizes roads that are at least 35 years old and have never experienced a structural failure.

No other agency across the nation has won more Perpetual Pavement Awards than MnDOT. Only 100 asphalt pavements have been honored with the award since 2001.

"It is a testament to the benefits of Perpetual Pavements that we have a section, 5-miles long, that has remained in such good condition as it carries heavy commercial vehicles, recreational vehicles, and passenger cars along the scenic St. Croix River," said Susan Mulvihill, MnDOT deputy commissioner and chief engineer. “This award also supports the belief we have at MnDOT that investing in pavements at the right time is cost effective and prolongs the life of the asset."

The segment of highway was built in the early 1960s. An asphalt overlay was put down in 1992. In 2000, MnDOT conducted a mill and fill, which involves removing the top asphalt surface layer and repaving the area with new hot asphalt.

More than 13,500 vehicles use the 53-year-old segment each day, according to MnDOT counts.

.To be considered for the award, a road must exhibit excellence in design, quality in construction and value for the traveling public A committee fromNational Center for Asphalt Technology chooses the winners.

Here is a list of other MnDOT projects honored with the award.

  •          Interstate 35, Pine County, 2002
  •          Hwy. 71, Hubbard County, 2003
  •          Hwy. 10, 224 to 227, Anoka County 2004
  •          Hwy. 18, Crow Wing County, 2005
  •          Hwy. 61 between Wabasha and Kellogg, Wabasha County, 2006
  •          Hwy.  71 near New London, Kandiyohi County, 2007
  •          Hwy. 36 on the south side of Stillwater in Washington County, 2008
  •          Eastbound lanes of Hwy. 10, Ottertail County, 2009
  •          Hwy. 61 on the North Shore of Lake Superior, Lake County 2010
  •          Hwy. 71 in Stearns and Todd counties, 2011
  •          Hwy. 61 in Wabasha and Winona Counties, 2012
  •          Hwy. 95 near Bayport in Washington County, 2013

Older Post

Season's first snowstorm overloaded MnDOT's 511 system

Newer Post

TSA confiscating a record number of guns