Sean Knapp, of Oakmont, Pa., defeated defending champion Dave Ryan, of Taylorville, Ill., 1 up Wednesday in the semifinals of the U.S. Senior Amateur at the Minikahda Club in Minneapolis. Knapp went 3 up after six holes and held on after Ryan birdied the 16th hole to close within 1 up.

Earlier in the day, Knapp beat Matt Sughrue, the Senior Am runner-up last year, 5 and 4 in the quarterfinals.

Paul Simson, of Raleigh, N.C., beat Frank Vana, of Boxford, Mass., 5 and 3 in the other semifinal. Simson is a two-time past champion, winning in 2010 and 2012. Only one player has won three Senior Am titles.

Nine to join ‘M’ Club Hall

Lynx guard Lindsay Whalen is among nine former Gophers who will be inducted into the University of Minnesota “M” Club Hall of Fame on Oct. 12.

The other inductees are: Shannon Beeler, softball, 1999 graduate; Del Cerney, men’s swimming, 1992; Steve Comer, baseball, 1976; Omar Douglas, football, track and field, 1994; Russ Fystrom, gymnast and coach; Terri Jashinsky, swimming, 2000; Jordan Leopold, hockey, 2002; and Adam Steele, track and field, 2004.