Former Gopher Jon DuToit of Chaska Town Course shot an 8-under 63 for the first-round lead in the Tapemark Charity Pro-Am at Southview Country Club in St. Paul on Friday.

Ross Miller of Dellwood Country Club is two shots back.

After a par on his first hole, DuToit went 6 under over his next five holes, including an eagle at the par-5 sixth hole.

"I putted well all day, really made some nice putts," DuToit said

New Canterbury leader

Hold for More, a 5-year-old Minnesota-bred thoroughbred, became the all-time leading money earner in the history of Canterbury Park (or Downs) when he won the ninth race Thursday. His $23,700 share of the purse boosted his earnings at the Shakopee racetrack to $347,650, eclipsing Crocrock, who earned $340,452 racing from 1999 to 2004.

Hold for More is owned by Dale Schenian of South St. Paul and trained by Francisco Bravo. That same duo also worked with Crocrock.

"I had Crocrock and now I have Hold for More," Schenian said. "The odds of that happening are a million to one."

Lacrosse award finalists

Seven senior finalists for both the Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Awards, recognizing the state's top senior boys' and girls' players, were named.

The Mr. Lacrosse finalists: Carter Collins, Prior Lake; Jack Dugan, Maple Grove; Lucas Honebrink, Mahtomedi; Sam Lindahl, Tartan; Noah Lindner, Eastview; Brandon Wuertz, Eagan, and Jackson Zaugg, Eden Prairie.

The Ms. Lacrosse finalists: Margot Coomes, Osseo/Park Center; Olivia Konigson, Stillwater; Ellie Lauderdale, Lakeville South; Sammie Morton, Eden Prairie; Sarah Pierson, Prior Lake; Naomi Rogge, Eden Prairie, and Lex Seifert, Hutchinson.

Finalists for the Jake Anderson Mr./Ms. Goalie Award are Jackson Beran of Eastview and Drew Bouman of Lakeville North in boys' lacrosse and Claire Hagen of Prior Lake and Elle Crawford of Cretin-Derham Hall in girls'.

Finalists were selected by a panel of high school/club coaches, officials and select media member.

Award winners will be announced at 2 p.m. June 18 at the DoubleTree Hotel in St. Louis Park.


• Paige Bueckers of Hopkins High School scored 12 points as the U.S. team beat Puerto Rico 79-32 to finish group play 3-0 in the FIBA Americas under-16 girls' basketball championships in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

• WCCO (830-AM) announced a new agreement with the University of St. Thomas to continue to air Tommies football games through the 2019 season. The partnership began with a 2010 playoff game.

• Minnesota State Mankato finished eighth in the Learfield Sports Directors' Cup Division II standings. The Mavericks had 11 teams score points in NCAA postseason competition.

• Nate Hanson was 2-for-4 with three RBI for the St. Paul Saints, but they lost 8-5 to the host Kansas City T-Bones.