With DFL state Rep. Mary Ellen Otremba announcing her retirement Wednesday, 22 lawmakers have announced they will not run for re-election.

Otremba, a Democrat from a district that voted for Republican John McCain for president and Republican Norm Coleman for U.S. Senate in 2008, was first elected to the House in 1997 special election after her husband died in office.

"Public service has been a part of my life, even before I came to the Legislature. In fact, it was my dad who brought me to my first precinct caucus.  Since that day, I've never stopped working to shine a light on the wonderful things than make Greater Minnesota's quality of life so special," she said.

Here's the list of lawmakers who we know are retiring:

  1. House Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher, DFL-Minneapolis, who is running for governor
  2. Rep. Marty Seifert, R-Marshall
  3. Sen. Tarryl Clark, DFL-St. Cloud, who is running for Congress against Republican U.S. Rep. Michele Bachmann
  4. Rep. Karla Bingham, DFL-Cottage Grove
  5. Rep. Jeremy Kalin, DFL-North Branch
  6. Rep. Cy Thao, DFL-St. Paul
  7. Rep. Rob Eastlund, R-Cambridge
  8. Sen. Steve Dille, R-Dassel
  9. Sen. Steve Murphy, DFL-Red Wing
  10. Sen. Pat Pariseau, R-Farmington
  11. Sen. Jim Vickerman, DFL-Tracy
  12. Sen. Dennis Frederickson, R-New Ulm
  13. Rep. Randy Demmer, R-Hayfield,  who is running against Democratic U.S. Rep. Tim Walz
  14. Rep. Dan Severson, R-Sauk Rapids, who is running for Secretary of State
  15. Rep. Tom Emmer, R-Delano, who is running for governor
  16. Rep. Paul Kohls, R-Victoria
  17. Rep. Doug Magnus, R-Slayton, who is running for Vickerman's seat in the Senate
  18. Sen. Mee Moua, DFL-St. Paul
  19. Rep. Laura Brod, R-New Prague
  20. Rep. Mary Ellen Otremba, DFL-Long Prairie
  21. Sen. Debbie Johnson, R-Ham Lake
  22. Rep. Larry Haws, DFL-St. Cloud

The list doesn't set any records -- yet. Back in 2006, 32 incumbents did not run, according to the Legislative Reference Library. In 2002, 47 lawmakers didn't run to come back to the Capitol.

There's still a chance 2010 could catch up -- election filing just started Tuesday and lawmakers have until June 1 to file their candidacies.

Older Post

Ole Savior runs for governor -- as a Republican

Newer Post

Minnesotans are fed up with the feds