the drive

Tim Harlow

Read more of this blog at

Metro Transit named Adam Marvin its full-time officer of the year and Marty Williams the part-time officer of the year in the 16th year of its program honoring people who keep transit safe.

This year's ceremony recognized 20 officers, a National Guard member and a citizen. Marvin was lauded for his leadership, loyalty and skill as a field officer. Williams won the Timothy Bowe Memorial Award, in memory of a State Patrol officer killed in the line of duty in 1997.

Metro Transit Police Chief John Harrington said the department will add 19 new full-time officers and 28 part-timers with the new Red Line BRT service on Cedar Avenue and next year's opening of the Green Line light-rail line between Minneapolis and St. Paul.