And the winners of the 2012-13 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Photographers are: Jenn Ackerman, Teri Fullerton, Jason Pearson and Katherine Turczan. Each will receive $25,000 to "study, reflect, experiment, and explore" during the next year. The fellowships are paid for by the McKnight Foundation and administered by, which is in turn a project of Walker Art Center and the McKnight Foundation.

Here's a sample of each artist's work: 

Jenn Ackerman:




Teri Fullerton:



Jason Perason:



Katherine Turczan: