Starting nose tackle Linval Joseph will not play tonight against the Packers.

Joseph, who was listed as doubtful on Friday's final injury report, was among the seven players the Vikings listed as being inactive 90 minutes before they kick off tonight's winner-take-all showdown at Lambeau Field.

Joseph returned from a three-game absence last weekend to start in the win over the Giants. He briefly left the game in the first quarter to have his injured toe looked at. But he returned to play 31 of the 61 defensive snaps.

Joseph did not practice at all this week, thus the doubtful designation.

Being without Joseph, their best run defender up front, is not ideal for the Vikings considering that Packers running back Eddie Lacy has had a lot of success against them. He rushed for 100 yards in the 30-13 loss in Week 11.

Sharrif Floyd starts at nose tackle with Tom Johnson next to him. Backup nose tackle Kenrick Ellis is the only other defensive tackle on the roster.

In addition to Joseph, quarterback Taylor Heinicke, wide receiver Charles Johnson, linebacker Brandon Watts, offensive linemen Nick Easton and Jeremiah Sirles, and defensive end Zach Moore are also inactive tonight.

The Packers, meanwhile, scratched left tackle David Bakhtiari, quarterback Brett Hundley, cornerbacks Sam Shields and LaDarius Gunter, guard Josh Walker, tight end Justin Perillo, and outside linebacker Jayrone Elliott.

Here is some pregame reading to keep you busy until tonight's 7:30 kickoff:

— It's not hard to imagine old-school safety Harrison Smith thriving in another era. But today, he is arguably the most versatile safety in the NFL.

— Jim Souhan writes that since Brett Favre trade in September of 1992, the Vikings' rivalry with the Packers has produced more envy than equality.

— Quarterbacks have been at the heart of this rivalry, Sid Hartman writes.

— I predict that tonight's game will be 23-20. But whom do I have winning?

Older Post

Vikings-Packers: Six Bold Predictions

Newer Post

Peterson eighth player to win at least three NFL rushing titles