Lakeville North beat Rochester John Marshall for the seventh year in a row on Thursday night in the Class 4A, Section 1 boys’ basketball title game, this time 84-50 at the Mayo Civic Arena in Rochester.

The Rockets loss ends the high school career of Matthew Hurt, the state’s all-time leading scorer among Class 4A players. He is one of the nation’s top recruits, No. 7 according to The senior scored 30 points and had 10 rebounds.

Jack Rusch scored 23 points to lead the Panthers. Tommy Jensen added 18. Tyler Wahl, who has signed with Wisconsin, scored 10.

Lakeville North has earned its eighth straight trip to the state tournament, which ties a state record.


Austin 57, Northfield 54: Agwa Nywesh scored 16, nine of them on three three-pointers to lead the Packers in the Section 1 championship game. Medi Obang added 14. Kip Schetnan had 19 for the Raiders. This is the third year in a row that Austin has beaten Northfield for the section title.

Princeton 91, Hibbing 76: The Tigers are going to the state tournament for the first time since 1932 after winning the Section 7 title. Jon Stimmler scored a game-high 34 for Princeton. Adam Williams added 18. Luke Lundell and Ayden McDonald both scored 18 for the Bluejackets.

Waseca 63, Mankato East 54: Andrew Morgan scored 22 points for the Bluejays as they captured the Section 2 championship. Jax Madson of the Cougars matched him with 22 points.