The general election is still five months away, but two of Hennepin County's most important officials seeking another term -- County Attorney Mike Freeman and Sheriff Rich Stanek -- are set to serve another four years in office.

No one is opposing them.

The deadline for filing to run came and went Tuesday, and no one signed up to challenge the two incumbents. Each won landslides in 2006.

This year's filing deadline was about six weeks earlier than usual because the state moved up the primary election to Aug. 10 to make it easier for military personnel to vote.

Freeman is running for county attorney for the fourth time after serving in the office from 1991 to 1999 and returning to it again in 2007. Stanek is seeking his second term.

Four county commissioners are seeking reelection this year, and three of them must first run in the primary election.

Board Chairman Mike Opat will face two Brooklyn Center residents he defeated four years ago: former City Council Member Mary O'Connor, who ran as a Libertarian candidate, and real estate broker and developer Tom Reynolds.

Mark Stenglein will run against Roger Smithrud, who lost a bid last year for the Minneapolis City Council as an Independence Party candidate, and Blair Tremere, a planner and former Golden Valley mayor and City Council member.

Gail Dorfman, who ran unopposed in 2006, will face Barry Lazarus, vice chair of the Minneapolis Charter Commission, and Hennepin Conservation District Supervisor Jeffrey A. Beck.

Because Beck lives outside the district, in Golden Valley, he will have to move to the district at least 30 days before the general election if he survives the primary.

Peter McLaughlin drew only one opponent, Blake A. Lewis of Minneapolis, so he can skip the primary.

All four commissioners are incumbents of long standing. McLaughlin was elected to the County Board in 1990, Opat in 1992 and Stenglein in 1996. Dorfman joined the board after winning a special election in 1999.

The filing period also closed Tuesday for candidates running for mayor and City Council positions in several suburbs, as well as for the Three Rivers Park District board, the Conservation District board and the Minneapolis school board.

In Richfield, Mayor Debbie Goettel will be challenged by Marty Kirsch, the longtime mayor she unseated in 2006. Kirsch had been Richfield mayor for 16 years before Goettel beat him.

Candidates who may have second thoughts about running have until 5 p.m. Thursday to take their name off the ballot. Absentee voting for the primary election begins June 25.

Staff writer Mary Jane Smetanka contributed to this report. Kevin Duchschere • 612-673-4455