Jorge Polanco, who hit 33 home runs and drove in 98 runs for the Twins this season, was chosen as the team's most valuable player and most improved player.

Polanco, a 28-year-old second baseman, also had 97 runs, a .503 slugging percentage and an .826 OPS in playing a team-high 152 games. His home run and RBI numbers were best for a switch-hitter in Twins history.

For the third consecutive season, Nelson Cruz, dealt to Tampa Bay in July, claimed the Bob Allison Award for the Twins player who exemplifies determination and leadership on and off the field.

Jose Berrios, sent to Toronto on July 30, was the team's pitcher of the year. He was 7-5 with a 3.48 ERA for the Twins.

Team awards were selected by the Twin Cities chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America and will be featured on the Diamond Awards telecast at 6 p.m. on Nov. 19 on Bally Sports North.

Other winners:

Rookie of the year: starting pitcher Bailey Ober.

Carl Pohlad Outstanding Community Service Award: reliever Taylor Rogers.

Defensive player of the year: shortstop Andrelton Simmons.

Mike Augustin Media Good Guy Award: third baseman Josh Donaldson.

Dick Siebert Award (Upper Midwest player of the year): Angels first baseman Jared Walsh, a native of Milwaukee.

Kirby Puckett Award: Joe Mauer for alumni community service.

Herb Carneal Lifetime Achievement Award: vice president for player personnel Mike Radcliff.

Previously, the team announced the minor league player of the year is third baseman Jose Miranda, and the organization's minor league pitcher of the year is Louie Varland.

The Diamond Awards started in 2006 to help raise money for research and education in brain, nerve and muscle disorders for the University of Minnesota; the organization has raised nearly $4 million during that time. The annual banquet has been replaced by a virtual awards ceremony for the past two years because of the pandemic.