Iowa defeated top-seeded Nebraska 2-0 on Friday in the winners' bracket of the Big Ten baseball tournament in Bloomington, Ind.

The Hawkeyes (36-19) took a 1-0 lead on Chris Whelan's homer in the bottom of the third inning.

It was his seventh homer of the season and 22nd RBI, Jake Adams' RBI single made it 2-0 in the fifth

Ryan Erickson, a 6-3 senior lefthander, threw 117 pitches for fifth-seeded Iowa and went a career-best 7⅔ innings. He gave up 10 hits and two walks but no runs. Erickson left with two runners aboard.

Zach Daniels, who replaced him, walked the first batter he faced to load the bases but then got a fly out.

The Cornhuskers (35-19-1) loaded the bases again in the ninth with two outs, but as Daniels hit a batter and gave up two singles.

Closer Josh Martsching got the final out on a strikeout for his seventh save of the season.

Nebraska left 14 runners on base, Iowa five.

Maryland 8, Nebraska 5: A.J. Lee and Madison Nickens each drove in three runs as the Terrapins eliminated the Big Ten regular-season champions from the tournament.

Maryland scored three runs in the top of the first and four more in the fourth to take a 7-1 lead.

Angelo Altavilla was 2-for-5 for Nebraska with two RBI.

Both teams had 10 hits.

News Services