Minnesota has seven Supreme Court justices, elected on a nonpartisan, statewide ballot to six-year terms. If a justice retires, resigns or dies during the elected term, the governor appoints someone to the vacant position. The justices, as with all judges in the state, must be lawyers, although they cannot practice law while serving on the court.