A meeting to gauge local support to locate a junior team in Duluth is scheduled for Sunday at 4 p.m. at the new Clyde Restaurant in Lincoln Park.

“It is my hope that we will have a good turnout for this meeting,” said Butch Williams, 57, a Duluth native and former National Hockey league player who is leading the charge to put the team in his hometown. “In the last year I had the opportunity to see a lot of junior hockey in different leagues, and I think we have a real market to host a successful team in Duluth and make it a long-standing tenant in the business community.

“I invite coaches, players and members of the public to attend this meeting. My hope is to get a lot of people here, generate a buzz in the community, and hit the ground running with this program very shortly.”

The team would be a member of the Superior International Junior Hockey League (SIJHL), a Tier II junior league based out of Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada. The league is a member of and is governed by Hockey Canada, the Canadian equivalent of USA Hockey.

Ron Whitehead, the commissioner of the SIJHL, will be in attendance at the meeting.

“It’s a great chance for people to get out and see what we’re all about,” said Williams. “We know that there will be a lot of questions about what we’re trying to do, but we will have all the people necessary to answer those questions. People will leave with a clear understanding of what our goals are and how we plan to go about our business.” For more information, contact Williams at 218.590.3632.

. . .

Minnesota 17- and 16-year-olds who will participate in USA Hockey National Player Development camps in Rochester, N.Y., this summer:

Minnesota Advanced 17s (July 7-13)
F — Jonny Brodzinski (Blaine), Tony Cameranesi (Wayzata), Josh Erickson (Roseau), Steven Fogarty (Edina), Ben Greiner (Shattuck-St. Mary’s), Christian Horn (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Joe LaBate (Holy Angels), Austyn Young (South St. Paul)

D — Max Everson (Edina), Taylor Fleming (St. Thomas Academy), Dan Molenaar (Eden Prairie), Nick Seeler (Eden Prairie), Andy Welinski (Duluth East)

G — Charlie Lindgren (Lakeville North)

Minnesota Advanced 16s (June 24-June 30)
F — Nate Arentz (Lakeville North), Erik Brenk (Moorhead), Jake Guentzel (Woodbury), Nick Kuchera (Eagan), Will Merchant (Eagan), A.J. Michaelson (Apple Valley), Kyle Osterberg (Lakeville South), Tony Paulson (Maple Grove), Gage Torrel (Monticello), Tyler Vesel (Shattuck-St. Mary’s)

D — Jake Horton (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Ian Janco (Bloomington Jefferson), Zach McQueen (Shattuck-St. Mary’s), Meirs Moore (Duluth East), Vince Pedrie (Apple Valley), Brady Skjei (Lakeville North)

G — Blake Cates (Stillwater), Collin Olson (Apple Valley)

Evaluators selected from a pool of players below, who competed in the USA Hockey Advanced 17 and 16 Final 54 Festival at Plymouth Ice Center last weekend:

G -- Connor Girard (Edina), Nick Lehr (Roseville)

D -- Joey Hess (Centennial), J. D. Controneo (Hill-Murray), Ben Ostlie (Edina), Jake Bushey (Duluth Marshall), Dan Molenaar (Eden Prairie), Brandon Parker (Faribault)

F -- Jake Sampson (Edina), Pat Stein Hauser (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Mike Zajac (Eagan), Bryant Christian (Moorhead), Canon Pieper (Shattuck/St. Mary’s), Christian Hom (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Peter Krieger (St. Thomas Academy), Tony Cameranesi (Wayzata), Joe LaBate (Hill-Murray), Matt Pohlkamp (Brainerd)

G -- Bodhi Engum (Burnsville), Ryan Coyne (Maple Grove)

D -- Eric Schurhamer (St. Thomas Academy), Miles Death (Wayzata), Ryan Bullock (Blake), Tyler Robert (Cretin-Derham Hall), Andy Welinski (Duluth East), Max Everson (Edina)

F -- Alex Harvey (Lakeville South), Michael Sit (Edina), Max Bikinied (White Bear Lake), Judd Peterson (Duluth Marshall), Cullen Hurley (Holy Angels), Ben Greiner (Shattuck/St. Mary’s), Ben Walker (Edina), Kevin Becker (Hill-Murray), Derek Frawley (Minnetonka)

G -- Charlie Lindgren (Lakeville North), Alex Glockner (Minnetonka)

D -- Garrett Schmitz (Red Lake Falls), Kevin Schultze (Hill-Murray), Mitch Hall (St. Cloud Tech), Nate Repensky (Duluth East), Nick Seeler (Eden Prairie), Taylor Fleming (St. Thomas Academy)

F -- Josh Erickson (Roseau), Steven Fogarty (Edina), Justin Kloos (Lakeville South), Austyn Young (South St. Paul), Ben Bahe (Hill-Murray), Nick DeCenzo (Hibbing), Jonny Brodzynski (Blaine), Zac McCarver (North St. Paul), E. J. Faust (Blake), Thomas Schutt (Minnetonka)


G -- Zach Thompson (Duluth Denfeld), Collin Olson (Apple Valley)

D -- Charlie Heller (Lakeville South), Jonah Johnson (Hill Murray), Derick Kuchera (Eagan), Zach MacQueen (Shattuck/St. Mary's), Jon Plaszcz (Eastview), Brady Skjei (Lakeville North)

F -- Eric Brenk (Moorhead), Max Coatta (Minnetonka), Will Merchant (Eagan), Lou Nanne (Edina), Jake Randolph (Duluth East), TJ Roo (Totino-Grace), Zach Stepan (Shattuck/St. Mary's), Jared Thomas (Hermantown), Dom Toninato (Duluth East)

G -- Blake Cates (Stillwater), Anders Jecha (Benilde-St. Margaret's)
D -- Drew Aspinwall (Maple Grove), Lance Carney (White Bear Lake), Jake Horton (Benilde-St. Margaret's), Ian Janco (Bloomington Jefferson), Meirs Moore (Duluth East), Matt Pilot (South St. Paul)
F -- Newton Fuller (Minneapolis West), Jake Guentzel (Woodbury), Blake Hallenberg (Wayzata), Nick Kuchera (Eagan), Adam Lovick (Centennial), Kyle Osterberg (Lakeville South), Tony Paulson (Maple Grove), Levi Talarico (Duluth Denfeld), Tyler Vesel (Shattuck/St. Mary's)

G -- Aaron Dingman (Wayzata), Anders Franke (Elk River)

D -- Jordan Freberg (Maple Grove), Joe Freemark (Lakeville South), Matt Halverson (Wayzata), Vince Pedrie (Apple Valley), Jacob Peterson (St. Cloud Tech), Matthew Stumpf  (Little Falls)
F -- Nate Arentz (Lakeville North), Andrew Commers (St. Thomas Academy), C.J. Franklin (Forest Lake), Steve Holappa (Duluth East), Jordan Jancze (Hill-Murray), A.J. Michaelson (Apple Valley), Jake O'Borsky (Red Wing), Bo Pieper (Shattuck/St. Mary's), Dylan Steman (Maple Grove), Gage Torrel (Monticello)

Photo -- Mitch Kontny of Superior scored on a trick shot with his stick between his legs in a shootout at a prep all-star game at the end of the 2009-10 season. HowieHanson/HowieBlog.com

Older Post

Picture this, StarTribune.comers: In My 'Hood

Newer Post

Duluth to host 2012 and '13 USA Half Marathon Championships