Six forwards and two defensmen from Minnesota were named to the under-18 U.S. team that will play in the Ivan Hlinka Memorial tournament from August 5-10 in the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Six played for high school teams last season, two for Portland of the WHL.

The state players on the U.S. team:


Paul Bittner, Crookston, and Keegan Iverson, St. Louis Park. They were teammates for Portland in the WHL.

Dylan Malmquist, Edina ... played for Hornets

Chase Phelps, Faribault ... played for Shattuck-St. Mary's

Jake Wahlin, St. Paul ... played for White Bear Lake HS


Jack Dougherty, Collage Grove ... played for Class 1A state champion St. Thomas Academy

Nick Wolff, Eagan ... played for the Wildcats

All eight were chosen after participating in the Boys Select Camp for 17 year olds in Williamsvile, N.Y. 

College/state hockey blog No. 2 for Summer of 2013.