The 18th O'Shaugh­­nessy Award for Poetry will go to Catherine Phil MacCarthy, a poet from Dublin. The prize, which carries a $5,000 honorarium, is presented to an Irish poet each spring by the University of St. Thomas Center for Irish Studies.

MacCarthy has written four collections of po­etry and a novel. She has received the Fish International Poetry Prize, and her first book was a finalist for the Patrick Kavanagh Award.

She will be in conversation with Minneapolis poet Matt Rasmussen at 7 p.m. April 8 at the Merriam Park Library in St. Paul, and she will read from her work at 7:30 p.m. April 11 at the John R. Roach Center for the Liberal Arts at St. Thomas.

Also …

Sheila O'Connor's middle-grade book, "Keeping Safe the Stars," winner of the Midwest Booksellers Choice Award, is out in paperback from Puffin Books.

• The Loft Literary Center has announced the 2014 McKnight Artist Fellowships for writers. Sierra DeMulder, Danez Smith, Sun Yung Shin and Carolyn Williams-Noren have won in poetry/spoken word, and Molly Beth Griffin has won for children's literature. Each fellowship awards $25,000.

• "The Devereaux Disaster," the second in a series by Steve McEllistrem, has been published by Two Harbors Press. McEllistrem is a host of KFAI-FM's Write On! Radio.

David Housewright's latest mystery, "The Devil May Care," a McKenzie Novel, will be published in June by Minotaur. Housewright was recently elected president of the Private Eye Writers of America.