Roxane Gay

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is an annual award that goes annually to one writer of fiction and one writer of nonfiction, honoring works that promote peace and reconciliation. This year marks the 10th year of the award, which has gone in the past to writers including Marlon James, Dave Eggers and Adam Johnson.

Here is this year's shortlist:


"All the Light We Cannot See," by Anthony Doerr, winner of the Pulitzer Prize.

"An Untamed State," by Roxane Gay

"Land of Love and Drowning," by Tiphanie Yanique.

"The Book of Unknown Americans," by Cristina Henriquez

"The Care and Management of Lies," by Jacqueline Winspear

"The Great Glass Sea," by Josh Weil.

And in nonfiction:

"Just Mercy," by Bryan Stevenson

"No Man's Land," by Elizabeth D. Samet

"The Other Side," by Lacy M. Johnson

"The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace," by Jeff Hobbs

"There Was and There Was Not," by Meline Toumani

"Who We Be," by Jeff Chang.

A lifetime achievement award--the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Award--has gone, in the past, to Louise Erdrich and Tim O'Brien. This year's award will go to Gloria Steinem.

The winners will be announced Sept. 30 and will be honored at a ceremony in November. 

Older Post

U of M's Julie Schumacher finalist for Thurber Prize for Humor

Newer Post

Marlon James on short list for Man Booker Prize