A shorter curfew will be imposed in Minneapolis and St. Paul starting at 10 p.m. Monday and expiring at 4 a.m. Tuesday, Gov. Tim Walz announced at a news conference Monday.

The curfew will return at 10 p.m. Tuesday and expire 4 a.m. Wednesday. Other cities imposed identical curfews over the same period, including Brooklyn Center, Edina, Richfield, Roseville and St. Louis Park. The Bloomington City Council was expected to approve the same curfew as well.

Those curfews are four hours shorter than those that were in effect in recent nights.

Walz said he decided to extend the curfew in consultation with the Minneapolis and St. Paul mayors.

"Minnesotans have taken charge of this … The vast majority of people abide by this," Walz said.

This is a developing story. Check startribune.com for updates.