Defending champion Kasson-Mantorville will be tough to dethrone. The KoMets are 22-0 in dual meets and have won three of four invitationals. That includes an impressive performance at the Minnesota Christmas tournament, in which they topped such quality teams as Shakopee, Anoka, St. Michael-Albertville, Scott West, Simley, St. Francis, Hastings and Owatonna. Kasson-Mantorville has nine wrestlers ranked among the top 10 in their respective weight classes. Four are ranked No. 1: Isaac Haman, 145; Brady Berge, 160; Patrick Kennedy, 170; and Noah Ryan, 220. ... No. 2-seeded Simley, with 11 state championships, is making its 23rd state tournament appearance. The last time a team other than Kasson-Mantorville or Simley won the Class 2A championship was 2007, when St. Michael-Albertville won before moving to Class 3A. ... No. 3 seed Scott West has been the tough-luck program in 2A. The Panthers, a cooperative between Belle Plaine and Jordan, are making their 18th tournament appearance but never have won a championship. They have finished second four times.


It wasn't that long ago that people believed Brady Berge was a lock for six state titles. After winning at 106 pounds as a seventh-grader in 2012, Berge was ranked No. 1 at 132 pounds in eighth grade but was upset by Simley's Kyle Gliva 5-4 in the quarterfinals. He won again in 2014 and 2015, but his 2016 title hopes were ended by a broken leg in the 152-pound semifinals. Apple Valley's Mark Hall, is the only Minnesota wrestler to win six individual titles. ... South St. Paul's Ryan Duffy, ranked No. 2 at 170 pounds, played quarterback in football and has committed to play baseball for Minnesota.

Returning champions

• 113: Charlie Pickell, Mankato West, (won at 106)

• 120: Garret Vos, Waconia (won at 113)

• 126: Jake Gliva, Simley (won at 120)

• 132: Tucker Sjomeling, Delano (won at 126)

• 145: Garrett Aldrich, Albert Lea (won at 132)

• 152: Anthony Jackson, Simley, (won at 138)

• 195: Daniel Kerkvliet, Simley (won at 170)

• 220: Noah Ryan, Kasson-Mantorville (won at 195).