Another in a line?

The Vikings hope Pat Elflein (above) can join their long line of standout centers the team developed:

Mick Tingelhoff: Signed as a rookie free agent in 1962. Started every game over the next 17 seasons. Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2015.

Dennis Swilley: Drafted as a guard in the second round (55th overall) out of Texas A&M in 1977. Took over for Tingelhoff in 1979 and lasted through 1986.

Kirk Lowdermilk: Drafted in the third round (59th overall) out of Ohio State in 1985. Was the backup to Swilley for two years before taking over the starting job.

Jeff Christy: Was released by Arizona during his rookie season in 1992 and signed by the Vikings in 1993. Became a six-year starter with two Pro Bowl selections.

Matt Birk: Drafted in the sixth round (173rd overall) out of Harvard in 1998 and was the backup to Christy for two years. Named to six Pro Bowls from 2000 to ’08.

John Sullivan: Drafted in the sixth round (187th overall) out of Notre Dame in 2008. Backed up Birk for one year, then started 93 of 96 games from 2009 to ’14.

Joe Berger: Went from Carolina to Miami to Dallas and then back to Miami before joining the Vikings in 2011. Replaced the injured Sullivan in 2015.