Aaron Burmeister is back in the lead in the Iditarod.

Burmeister on Sunday completed the 90-mile run from Kaltag to Unalakleet in 11 hours and became the first musher to reach the Bering Sea coast of Alaska.

Earlier in the day, the 39-year-old from Nome was the third racer to leave the Kaltag checkpoint behind three-time runner-up Aliy Zirkle and four-time champion Jeff King.

Burmeister had taken a mandatory eight-hour rest in Kaltag — the final checkpoint on the Yukon River.

Zirkle paused just 14 minutes in Kaltag and may have rested her team along the trail. King left Kaltag after a rest of more than six hours.

Burmeister's best finish in the 1,000-mile race to Nome was fourth in 2012.

Unalakleet is 269 miles from Nome.

Racers faced brutally cold temperatures on the 90-mile trail leading away from the river to Unalakleet. The temperature along the trail at midmorning Sunday was 30 degrees below zero but there was no wind.

Unalakleet at minus 6 was nearly 25 degrees warmer. However, after passing Old Woman Mountain, a prominent landmark 58 miles out of Kaltag, mushers will face 32 miles of trail that's often windy.

Forecasters reported winds Sunday morning of 21 mph in Unalakleet.

auto racing

Don Schumacher Racing rules

Don Schumacher Racing swept the top two NHRA series at the Gatornationals, giving the car owner the perfect welcome back gift following cancer treatment.

Spencer Massey won the Top Fuel division, edging DSR teammate Tony Schumacher in the final. Ron Capps won the Funny Car division by beating surprising finalist John Hale, the No. 15 qualifier.

Greg Anderson got the victory in Pro Stock, ending a 59-race victory drought. Karen Stoffer won Pro Stock Motorcycle division, the 198th victory by a woman in NHRA history.

auto racing

Don Schumacher Racing rules

Running: Kenyans Daniel Limo and Ogla Kimaiyo won the Los Angeles Marathon, and Jared Ward and Blake Russell captured the USA Track & Field National Championships that were run at the same time.

Limo fell behind countryman Edwin Koech after about 20 miles but caught him two miles later and won going away in 2 hours, 10 minutes, 36 seconds.

Lani Rutto of Kenya also caught Koech and finished second for the second straight year, this time in 2:12:41. Koech was fourth.

Ward took the lead at the 16th mile and finished third overall in a personal best 2:12:56. Matt Llano was second (sixth overall) in 2:16:13 and Mike Morgan was third in 2:16:55.

Kimaiyo led the women from the 19th mile, leaving Russian Natalya Puchkova in the 23rd mile and winning in 2:34:09. Puchkova was second in 2:34:32 and Russell was third overall in 2:34:57.


Speedskating: Sjinkie Knegt and Choi Minjeong won the men's and women's overall titles at the short-track speedskating world championships.

Biathlon: Jakov Fak and Valj Semerenko won the men's and women's mass-start races on the final day of the biathlon world championships.

Ski jumping: Severin Freund secured his fourth straight ski jump World Cup victory to further extend his lead in the overall standings with just two events left.

Tennis: Serena Williams cruised into the fourth round of the BNP Paribas Open, beating Zarina Diyas 6-2, 6-0 in 53 minutes. Donald Young led a parade of upsets in the men's draw, with the American beating 31st-seeded Jeremy Chardy 6-4, 6-2. Alexandr Dolgopolov beat No. 29 Santiago Giraldo 6-1, 7-6 (4) and qualifier Michael Berrer advanced when No. 22 Richard Gasquet retired trailing 3-1 in the third set.