Astros lefhander Dallas Keuchel is the American League’s Cy Young winner, the Baseball Writers Association of America announced on Wednesday, winning easily over Blue Jays lefty David Price.

    Keuchel went 21-5, and 15-0 at Minute Maid Park, and posted a 2.48 ERA in helping Houston win the AL wildcard, the Astros’ first playoff spot since 2005. Price was 18-5 overall with a 2.45 ERA, and went 9-1 for the Blue Jays after being traded to Toronto in late July.

    Keuchel collected 22 first-place votes from the 30-member panel of BBWAA members, and eight second-place votes. Price received the other eight first-place votes, plus 21 second-place votes and one third-place vote.

    Oakland’s Sonny Gray finished third, followed by Chicago lefthander Chris Sale and Tampa Bay’s Chris Archer.

    Price was particularly hard on the Twins, winning all four of his starts against them in 2015, starting with 8 2/3 shutout innings on Opening Day. Price posted a 1.16 ERA in 31 innings against the Twins, striking out 31.

    Keuchel won his only start against the Twins, an 8-5 victory in Houston on Sept. 6, but he wasn’t as dominating that day as he was much of the rest of the season. Keuchel went 15-0 in Minute Maid Park this season, but only the Twins ever held a two-run lead on him in Houston. Keuchel also gave up only four home runs in Houston all season, and three of them came that day, to Twins Brian Dozier, Eduardo Escobar and Aaron Hicks. (Seattle's Mark Trumbo had the other.)


    Meanwhile, a Cub collected a BBWAA Award for the third straight day, with Jake Arrieta narrowly defeating Dodgers righthander Zack Greinke for the NL Cy Young Award. L.A. lefthander Clayton Kershaw finished third.

    Arrieta, 22-6 with a 1.77 ERA, follows Kris Bryant’s victory as NL Rookie of the Year on Monday, and Joe Maddon’s third Manager of the Year award on Tuesday.

    Arrieta received 17 first-place votes, 11 second-place and two for third. Greinke was first on 10 ballots, second on 17 and third on three, while Kershaw received the other three first-place votes, two second and 23 third.

Older Post

Ryan 'hopeful' about deal with Park; minor-league updates

Newer Post

By two at-bats, Buxton retains rookie status for '16