Considering no other school has won a Big Ten men's hockey regular season championship, the results of the preseason coaches poll announced Monday should not be considered a surprise.

The coaches of the seven teams picked the Gophers to win their fifth Big Ten title in a row. If they do, that would be seven conference titles in a row for the Gophers, starting with WCHA titles in 2012 and 2013.

Minnesota finished with a conference record of 14-5-1 last season.

Conference newcomer Notre Dame was selected second in the poll, with Wisconsin third and defending Big Ten tournament champion Penn State fourth.

The coaches also selected the Big Ten preseason watch list, featuring 17 of the best players. The Gophers' Tyler Sheehy, the 2017 Big Ten player of the year, and Wisconsin's Trent Frederic were the only two unanimous selections.

Sheehy, a junior forward, was an All-America pick and a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award last season after amassing a career-high 53 points (20 goals, 33 assists) — the most points in a season by a Gopher in the past decade.

The Gophers also had three other players on the watch list: forwards Rem Pitlick and Casey Mittelstadt and defenseman Ryan Lindgren.

preseason coaches poll

Rank, team 2016-17 Big Ten record

1. Minnesota 14-5-1 43 points

2. Notre Dame Not in conference

3. Wisconsin 12-8-0 36 points

4. Penn State 10-9-1 31 points

5. Ohio State 11-8-1 35 points

6. Michigan 6-12-2 22 points

7. Michigan State 3-14-3 13 points

Preseason watch list

Ryan Lindgren D Minnesota

Casey Mittelstadt F Minnesota

Rem Pitlick F Minnesota

Tyler Sheehy F Minnesota*

Quinn Hughes D Michigan

Will Lockwood F Michigan

Josh Norris F Michigan

Jake Evans F Notre Dame

Jordan Gross D Notre Dame

Andrew Oglevie F Notre Dame

Mason Jobst F Ohio State

Matthew Weis F Ohio State

Peyton Jones G Penn State

Denis Smirnov F Penn State

Trent Frederic F Wisconsin*

Kyle Hayton G Wisconsin

Cameron Hughes F Wisconsin

*-Unanimous selection