World Cup details



Eight four-team groups play a round-robin schedule with the top two teams from each group advancing to the knockout stage. The United States is in Group G with Germany, Ghana and Portugal.


Key dates

Thursday: Tournament begins with host Brazil playing Croatia

June 16: United States vs. Ghana

June 22: United States vs. Portugal

June 26: United States vs. Germany

June 28-July 1: Round of 16

July 4-5: Quarterfinals

July 8-9: Semifinals

July 13: Championship


Defending champion

Spain defeated the Netherlands 1-0 in overtime in 2010 in South Africa.